Archdioces of Yangon



Date of Birth              : 29.10.1948

Ordained Priest         : 09.04.1976

Ordained Bishop (Lashio)    : 16.12.1990

Installed Bishop of Pathein  : 25.08.1996

Apostolic Administrator of Mandalay Archdiocese  : 03.04.2002

Appointed Archbishop of Yangon Archdiocese      : 24.05.2003

Installed Archbishop of Yangon                         : 07.06.2003

Appointed 1St Cardinal of Myanmar by His Holiness Pope Francis  on  04.01.2015,

Consistory on 14.02.2015

E-mail (personal):

(Office) +95 (0)1 245467


His  Excellency bishop John Saw Yaw Han

(auxiliary bishop of Yangon)

Date of Birth                                     05.05.1968

Ordained Priest                              18.03.1995

Ordained Bishop                             12.04.2015

E-mail (personal)               

Tel.: (Reception)                              +95 (0)1 392517, 392667


Secretary: Fr. Dominic
Archbishop’s House 289, Theinbyu Street,
 Botahtaung P.O.11161 Yangon. MYANMAR.
Tel.: (Reception) +95 1 392517, 392667
(Secretary) +95 1 245467
Fax.: +95 1 379059


Date of Birth 19.09.1927

Ordained Priest 21.12.1951

Ordained Bishop 02.02.1965
Installed as Archbishop 19.06.1971
Retired 28.09.2002
Address : c/o Church of Epiphany 18,
Chit Yeik Mon Lane Kaweichan,
Mayangone Tsp Bayintnaung P.O, 
Yangon, MYANMAR.
Tel: +95 662112

    Msgr. Saw Francis
        St. John's Catholic Church (Cantonment)
        25, Maw Kun Daik Road
        Dagon P.O.,
    Tel:    +95 (0)1 375679
    Church of Epiphany
    18, Chit Yeik Mon Lane
    Kaweichan, Mayangone Tsp
    Bayint Naung P.O., Yangon
    Tel: +95 (0)1 662112
    Fr. George Shwe Htun
    Archbishop’s House
    289, Theinbyu Street
    Botahtaung P.O.11161
    Yangon. MYANMAR.

    Fr. Noel Saw Naw Aye

Statistics (According to December 2013)
Area in sq. klm : 47,192
Civil Population :                   12,000,000 (+)
Catholic Population : 81,874
Parishes : 42
Bishops : 3
Priests : 102
Major Seminarians : 29
Minor Seminarians : 34
Catechists : 54
Home-missioners : 38
Religious Congregations : 30
Men Religious : 27
Women Religious : 275

    Vicar General    Msgr. Saw Francis
    Procurator    Fr. George Shwe Htun
        Fr. Louis Ye Myint
        Fr. Hyginus Myint Soe
        Fr. John Saw Yaw Han
        Fr. Noel Saw Naw Aye
        Fr. Joseph Maung Win
        Fr. Anthony Zaw Htun   
    Vicar General    Msgr. Saw Francis
    Chancellor    Msgr. Ephrem Saw Paing
    Procurator    Fr. George Shwe Htun
        Fr. Louis Ye Myint
        Fr. John Saw Yaw Han
            Fr. Noel Saw Naw Aye
            Fr. Hyginus Myint Soe
            Fr. Joseph Maung Win
            Fr. Anthony Zaw Htun
            Fr. John Paul Zaw Min Aye
            Fr. Benedict Htay Lwin                       
            Fr. Albert Myo Lwin
            Fr. Simon Tin Maung

    Archbishop Charles Bo
    Msgr. Saw Francis
    Fr. George Shwe Htun
    Fr. Dominic Savio Jude
    Sr. Lucia Yaw Laing (FMM)
    Daw Naw Eh Phaw
    U Win Shin
    Jurdicial Vicar Msgr. Ephrem Saw Paing
    Defensor of Bond Fr. Hyginus Myint Soe
    Notary Fr. John Saw Yaw Han
    Tel: (Office) +95 (0)1 392517, 392667
    Tel: (Residence) +95 (0)1 662112
    President Msgr. Ephren Saw Paing
    Vice-president Mahn Tha Yin
    Secretary Benjamin Win Maung
    Joint-secretary James Tin Moe Htun
    Treasurer Fr. Martin Zaw Zaw Naing
    Joint-treasurer U Pint Ko
    Auditor Daw Cissy Shwe Win
    Joint-auditor U Kyaing
    Member Daw Angela
    Member U Nyan Win
    Member U Phay Sein Lay
    Member U Sein Tin Nyunt
    Member U Tin Myint
    Member U Win Shin
    Member U Htun Nyo
    Member U Mya Thwe
    Member U Zaw Win

Brief History

Yangon is the Capital City of Myanmar. There are altogether 7 States and 7 Divisions. Yangon Archdiocese comprises of the whole of Yangon (Superior) Division, parts of Bago Division and Ayeyawaddy Division. It is bounded with the Dioceses of Hpa-an, Taungngu, Pyay and Pathein. It comprises of the Capital city, urban areas, satellite towns and villages, near and remote, including undeveloped places. We can see different races of people, different levels of living standard, different nationalities. It covers an area of 47,192 square kilometers with hills, mountains and fields. According
to the 31st December 2010 Statistics, the total number of Catholics in the whole diocese is 80,549.
Buddhism is the most dominant religion in the Archdiocese of Yangon. About 6% of the population are Christians, 89% are Buddhists and 3.8% are Muslims, 0.5% are Hindus and 0.2% are animists. Of the Christian population, 30% are Catholics. In the entire Myanmar, there are about 700,000 Catholics. Out of this number 80,549 live in Yangon Diocese. This means that about 13% of the entire Catholic population of Myanmar live in Yangon Archdiocese. There are 39 parishes comprising around 350 villages.
In 1954 the Catholic Hierarchy of Burma (Myanmar) was established by Pope Pius XII, and the Vicariate of Southern Burma was further divided. The larger eastern portion of the Vicariate became the Archdiocese of Rangoon (Yangon). The western portion, comprising the three districts of Bassein (Pathein), Myaungmya and Henzada was erected into the diocese of Bassein (Pathein). Presently there are 4 Suffragan Dioceses in the Archdiocese of Yangon: Pathein Diocese, Pyay Diocese, Mawlamyine Diocese and Pha-an Diocese.
Archbishop Victor Bazin was appointed as the head of the Archdiocese of Rangoon in 1954. On the 19th June 1971, Archbishop Victor Bazin retired and returned to France in the same year. Archbishop Gabriel Thohey Mahn-Gaby succeeded him as the Archbishop of Rangoon. 
On the 28th September 2002, Archbishop Gabriel Thohey Mahn-Gaby retired and Bishop Sotero Phamo (Bishop of Loikaw diocese) was appointed as the Apostolic Administrator of the Archdiocese of Yangon.

On 16 July 2007, Fr. Justin Saw Min Thide was announced as Auxiliary Bishop of the Archdiocese of Yangon. Episcopal ordination was held on 2 December 2007. At the request and application of Archbishop Charles Bo, the Holy Father Pope Benedict XVI created a new diocese of Hpa-an divided
 On 24 May 2003, His Holiness Pope John Paul II appointed Bishop Charles Bo as the Archbishop of Yangon. He was installed on 7 June 2003 as the Archbishop of Yangon by His Excellency Msgr. Adriano Bernardini, the Apostolic Delegate to the Union of Myanmar.
from the Archdiocese of Yangon and Bishop Justin Saw Min Thide was appointed as its ordinary on 24 January 2009. The establishment of the Diocese of Hpa-an and the installation of Bishop Justin Saw Min Thide as its ordinary was celebrated on 3 December 2009. It was officiated by H.G. Archbishop Salvatore Pennacchio, Apostolic Delegate to Myanmar.


Rt. Rev. Paul Bigandet
Vicar Apostolic of Burma
1856 - 1894 A.D
Rt. Rev. Felix Perroy
Vicar Apostolic of Lower Burma
1921 - 1931 A.D
Most Rev. Dr. Victor Bazin, M.E.P.
Vicar Apostolic of Yangon
1 January 1955 Appointed -
19 June 1971 Retired
Rt. Rev. Raymond Saw Po Ray
Auxiliary Bishop of Yangon
8 December 1987 - 22 March 1993
Currently Bishop of Mawlamyine Diocese
Most Rev. Charles Bo
Archbishop of Yangon
24 May 2003 -